Posted by: samhenry | October 3, 2009

Presidential Loss Of Olympic Proportion and of Rowan Martin – Moses, Take a Memo

mosesMOSES, TAKE A MEMO for 10/3/2009

EDITORIAL from SamHenry

I call my editorializing – my journalistic self-talk –  “Moses, Take a Memo.”  These are times when I sit down and try to remember what the road map looked like and then try to reestablish where I and my fellows could be on it. I feel like that other traveler on that mountain road who met up with the One who dictated the 10 GPO headings- the rules for life’s road – unamended.  Congress could never…….

In all of this haggling about Obama care and everything else with his name on it, my worry is no longer centered on the issues.  My worry is that I have become like the forces I am fighting?  I ask myself the questions: Am I lying to myself or to anyone else?  Am I being brutal in thought, word or deed? Has there been a breach in loyalty?

Roland Martin – you have caused concerns about myself to come to a head today. I am about to use your tactics to release my frustrations at your predictable reaction to your fellow citizens gleeful that we have lost the Games for 2016.  You have decried all of those celebrating the loss as doing so for political or even racial reasons. The White House remains blameless and you have raised the specter of Republicans dancing on Obama’s political grave.

Not ALL Republicans can take time to do that.  Rather, it is, in the main, the American way to root for the  underdog.  Can’t you still hear the roar of the crowds for Barack?  Unlike the Olympics, Washington is not a narcissist-free environment for the power hungry. He succumbed on his own and to his darker demons – like Lula, the President of  Brazil who encouraged him to attend the IOC event.

You see, Rowland, right after the Rio win, UK athletes pledged their immediate support to help Rio in any way possible. That’s the Olympic spirit.  But Would they  have been so eager to help or even go to Chicago when the US had become so professional as hosts for the event?

First, take a look at Obama’s own “sportsmanship.” Right after winning the US election, it was rather unsporting for him to take over banking, finance and auto companies and to not make a move to set a timetable for their release back into private hands. Instead, he set up an impossible triathlon: financial reform, cap and trade and health care reform.

The War in Afghanistan was out of view until it smashed into the unfortunate flight of Air Force One winging its way to the IOC debacle.  Suddenly 9 months in office came down to that unspeakable juxtaposition of a Commander-in-Chief who had flown off course and the social milieu surrounding one of the world’s largest business deals.  Does a commander meet with his general in a parked Air Force One in his dinner jacket?  Didn’t General McChrystal know that dollars overshadow dead men – men who have given their lives in far off lands so that we could win the Olympic nod?

Regardless, Roland, let me teach you and Barack how to be gracious losers – you congratulate the winner; you do not take pot shots at your own people.

But thanks, to you, Rowland, I have recovered my editorial style and voice- wit, intelligence, insight and a little care for my benighted fellows on the far side. These and their own petards are my weapons of choice. May the better brain win!  Oh, but Rowland – are you that black Marxist terrorist I saw coming out of the CNN studios the other day….?  Sorry I’m not the right wing racist nut job who  noticed – “just sayin’.”

________________________________________________

Related Reading…

CNN Politics – Roland S. Martin: Commentary: GOP celebrates U.S. defeat

HotAir: Gray Lady: White House clueless on Olympic

Michelle Malkin: The noble “sacrifice” of Michelle Obama; Update: Chicago & Tokyo eliminated; Games over, prepare for recriminations; It’s Rio

VotingFemale Speaks!: No Chicago Olympics for Obama; Packs up Snake Oil and Heads Home; Congrats Rio!

Frugal Cafe: Michelle Obama’s IOC “Childhood Memory” Tall Tale: The Olympics and Daddy’s Lap (video)

American Thinker: If I told You, Would You Have Believed?

Responses

  1. Obama’s “personal charm” failed to win Chicago the…

    Barack Obama went to Copenhagen hoping to gain support for organizing the 2016 Olympic Games in his hometown of Chicago. Unfortunately, Windy City ended up being the very first burg disqualified from the choices for the next host (Hat tip: Hot Air):…

  2. […] Oh, and the bit about Beck being among those who were absolutely “giddy” when the US lost the Olympics? It clearly puts him among the White House hirelings who all have mouthed the very same words and on CNN. [see VotingFemale Friends Speak!  – Presidential Loss Of Olympic Proportion and of Rowan Martin –… […]


Categories

